Skip to main content

WattBackup

Privacy PolicyCookie Policy

LiFePO4 vs NMC Power Stations: Cycle Life, Weight and Cold Weather

Published September 5, 2026Last updated October 7, 2026By Álvaro Melgar Merenciano

Quick answer: Three things everyone says about LiFePO4 vs NMC stations, and the makers’ own specs contradict all three. The LFP units carry 43 per cent more watt-hours per pound, not fewer. The cycle counts use different retention thresholds, so 8× is not a ratio. And the LFP cold floor is 14 °F against the NMC unit’s 32.

Almost everything written about LiFePO4 vs NMC is written about cells, and then quietly applied to products. The cell-level physics is real. What follows is what happens when you take those conclusions to a product page and check them, using the same approach as our comparison of what inverter makers publish about waveforms. For the wider decision, our power station sizing guide covers every tier.

Read this before the numbers: what follows compares three products, not three chemistries. Two manufacturers, different generations, different inverters and enclosures. It cannot isolate the effect of the cells, and it is not meant to. It is meant to show what you are actually choosing between on a shelf.

The weight penalty that is not there

The standard framing is that you accept extra weight in exchange for LiFePO4’s longevity, the way you accept a smaller inverter in exchange for a lower price. One page we read while checking this puts a number on it: a 1 kWh LFP unit “lands around 22–28 lbs; the same capacity in NMC is 15–18 lbs”. Here is what the two manufacturers publish.

ProductChemistryCapacityWeightWatt-hours per pound
Goal Zero Yeti 1000XLi-ion NMC997 Wh31.68 lb31.5
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2LiFePO41,070 Wh23.8 lb45.0
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2LiFePO42,042 Wh39.5 lb51.7
Capacity and weight are the manufacturers’ own figures, read September 2026. Watt-hours per pound is our division of their two numbers; neither company publishes it.

The LiFePO4 unit of the same class is 43 per cent better per pound, and the larger one is 64 per cent better. Note also that the NMC station weighs 31.68 lb for a kilowatt-hour, which is nearly double the top of the 15–18 lb band that page quoted. The band describes cells. The product is enclosure, inverter, transformer, fans, heatsinks, casing and cabling, and the cells are only part of what you carry.

Bar chart of watt-hours per pound as published: Goal Zero Yeti 1000X on NMC 31.5, Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 on LiFePO4 45.0, and Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 on LiFePO4 51.7.
Two makers, three products, one surprise: the LiFePO4 units carry more watt-hours per pound than the NMC one, not fewer.

This does not mean NMC cells are not denser. They are. It means the density advantage is spent before it reaches your hands, and that on these products it does not appear at all. If weight is what you are optimising for, weigh the products.

LiFePO4 vs NMC: the cycle counts are not comparable

Jackery publishes 4,000 cycles to 70 per cent or more of capacity. Goal Zero publishes 500 cycles to 80 per cent capacity, and adds the conditions: discharge rate 1C, full charge and discharge, 25 °C. Both are honest numbers. Neither can be divided by the other.

A cycle rating is always a pair: a count and the capacity you have left when you get there. Running to 70 per cent takes longer than running to 80 per cent, because you are allowing more degradation before you stop counting. Comparing 4,000-to-70 with 500-to-80 and reporting “eight times” treats those two thresholds as if they were the same finish line.

What is publishedGoal Zero, NMCJackery, LFPBLUETTI, LFP
Cycle count5004,0004,000+
Retention threshold80 per cent70 per cent or more80 per cent
Test conditions1C, full charge/discharge, 25 °Cnot statednot stated
Warranty—3+2 years—
All three come from the manufacturers’ own specification tables. The rows that make them comparable are the second and third, and only one company fills in the third. The BLUETTI figures are from its Elite 100 V2, a 1,024 Wh LiFePO4 unit of the same class.

The third column is the one that settles it. BLUETTI publishes the same 4,000 as Jackery but quotes it to 80 per cent, which is the stricter finish line — so two identical headline numbers describe two different claims. The direction of the difference against the NMC unit is not in doubt: 4,000 is a great many more than 500 even after you allow for the thresholds. What is in doubt is the arithmetic people do with it, and the useful habit is to read the percentage before the number. A cycle count with no retention figure beside it is not a specification.

Cold weather, and the row most comparisons skip

Received wisdom says LiFePO4 is the one that struggles in the cold. The same page that gave the weight band puts it precisely: NMC “handles 14 °F (−10 °C) discharge slightly better than LFP”. Now look at what the two companies actually rate their products to.

Published rangeGoal Zero Yeti 1000X, NMCJackery Explorer 1000 v2, LFP
Charging32–104 °F (0–40 °C), one range for both32–113 °F (0–45 °C)
Discharging14–113 °F (−10–45 °C)
Goal Zero gives a single “operating usage” range. Jackery gives two, and they are not the same. A published range is a manufacturer’s stated limit, not a measurement of how well either performs inside it.

14 °F is the LiFePO4 unit’s published discharge floor. It is the exact temperature quoted as the one NMC handles better, and the NMC product here is not rated below 32 °F at all. On what the two companies put in writing, the LFP station has the wider usable cold range, not the narrower one.

The row that matters for an outage is the one Goal Zero does not have. On the LFP unit, charging stops eighteen degrees Fahrenheit above where discharging stops. In an unheated garage at 20 °F you can run the station down, and then you cannot put anything back into it — not from a wall, not from a panel — until it is warmer. That is a planning fact, not a chemistry fact, and it applies to almost every LiFePO4 product whether or not its maker prints two rows.

Why the chemistry table does not survive the walk to the shelf

Every claim above is true of cells and false, or unformable, about these products. That is not a contradiction; it is what happens when a component property is quoted as a product property. A power station is a battery inside a machine, and the machine has mass, a temperature policy written by its own engineers, and a warranty department deciding what number to print.

There is a second reason, and it is the honest limit of this comparison: these are different generations. The NMC unit is an older design; the LFP units are newer, and newer products are lighter and better specified for reasons that have nothing to do with cathode material. Nothing here isolates chemistry. It isolates what is on the shelf, which is the thing you are actually choosing between.

If you want the practical version: the chemistry is rarely the reason to pick one station over another. Capacity, the continuous output, the fraction of the nameplate that reaches a socket and whether the surge rating starts your loads decide far more, which is why the 1,000 Wh and 2,000 Wh articles spend their time there.

How we read this

Capacities, weights, chemistries, cycle ratings and temperature ranges are quoted from Goal Zero’s and Jackery’s own product pages, read in September 2026 and linked above so you can check them. Watt-hours per pound is the only figure we calculated: capacity divided by weight, on their two published numbers. No product was tested by us and none is recommended — the three appear because their manufacturers publish enough to be checked. Our method is described at how we test.

What we have not done is claim that LiFePO4 cells are denser than NMC cells, because they are not, or that cold does not affect LiFePO4, because it does. We have compared what is printed on three product pages, and said plainly where that is and is not the same question.

The cold limit is a limit, not a suggestion

Charging a lithium battery below the temperature its manufacturer allows can damage it permanently, and the damage is not always visible. If a station has been in an unheated space, check its own manual for the charging range before plugging it in, and let it warm up if it is below that range. Do not improvise heating.

Do not wire a station into your home’s circuits, and never feed a house through a wall socket — that is backfeeding and it can kill line workers. A transfer switch is electrician work.

Frequently asked questions

Are LiFePO4 power stations heavier than NMC ones?

Not on the products we checked. The LiFePO4 stations carry 45.0 and 51.7 watt-hours per pound against 31.5 for the NMC one. LiFePO4 cells are less dense than NMC cells, but a power station is mostly not cells, and the difference does not reach the handle.

Does LiFePO4 really last eight times longer?

That ratio comes from dividing 4,000 cycles by 500, and the two figures are quoted to different retention thresholds — 70 per cent or more against 80 per cent. The LFP rating is much longer-lived, but the multiple is not something the published specifications support.

Can I charge a power station below freezing?

Both units here publish a charging floor of 32 °F (0 °C), and the LiFePO4 one publishes a separate discharging floor of 14 °F. So a cold garage can leave you able to use a station but unable to recharge it. Check your own manual: the two ranges are often different and only one is usually quoted in reviews.

Which chemistry should I buy?

On current products the question rarely decides anything, because the specifications that matter — capacity, continuous output, surge rating, weight — are published per product and can simply be compared. Choose on those, then read the temperature rows for the place the station will actually live.

The short version

Three widely repeated claims about LiFePO4 vs NMC, three specification pages, and none comes through intact. The LiFePO4 stations are lighter per watt-hour, the cycle ratings cannot be divided into a headline multiple, and the LFP unit is rated to run eighteen degrees colder than the NMC one. Compare products rather than chemistries, and read the charging temperature row before the cycle count — it is the one that decides whether a cold garage is a storage place or a dead end.

AM

Álvaro Melgar Merenciano builds websites for a living and edits WattBackup. He is not an electrician — which is why every wattage, runtime and cost figure here is traced back to a named primary document — a spec sheet, a federal dataset or the text of a regulation.

Last updated: September 5, 2026

This article is general information, not an installation guide and not a substitute for a licensed electrician. Electrical work on a service panel, a transfer switch or a utility connection is regulated in most jurisdictions and normally requires a permit and an inspection. Fuel-burning equipment produces carbon monoxide and must never be run indoors, in a garage or near an opening into the home.